oiljnr.blogg.se

India arie songs about beauty
India arie songs about beauty





india arie songs about beauty

“I think they’ve gotten worse the prevalence and the normalization of cosmetic surgery,” she says.

india arie songs about beauty

That was, like, a little-girl me.”īut the same issues about beauty and body image that Arie addressed in “Video” still exist, she says - especially for female artists. “I feel like a completely different person. “I look back and go, ‘Damn, I was just, like, 20 when I wrote this!’ ” she says. Reflecting on “Acoustic Soul” - which went double platinum and was nominated for seven Grammys, including Album of the Year - Arie feels awed by her accomplishment. Your stomach doesn’t get flat from one situp. “And even if it’s hard to accept that, it’s a work in progress. “Look at someone that you really, really love and what they’re worth, and you’re worth the same thing,” says Arie. There’s a higher purpose and intention, though, in Arie calling her latest LP “Worthy.” The folky title tune spreads the message that “every one of us is worthy.” So what’s the secret to knowing your own worth? And when she comes out, I be like, ‘I warned you.’ ” I have an alter ego - I call her Nonchalant. If you’re really listening to my music, you hear the push and pull of it. “Anybody who thinks I’m always positive is not being realistic, ’cause who’s always positive?” says Arie, who is now based in Nashville, Tenn., after living in New York for several years. Still, like all of us, she has her moments. Getty Imagesīut since making her debut with 2001’s “Acoustic Soul,” featuring the self-love anthem “Video,” Arie’s music has been associated more with enlightenment and positivity. We can be all of it.” India.Arie performs in Detroit, Mich., in May. I’m opinionated and I’m sarcastic and I got a lot of black-girl swag. “It’s funny, it feels empowering in a certain way,” says Arie, 43, of dropping the S-bomb in “Coulda Shoulda Woulda.” “Because I feel like, as an artist, people put you in little boxes. In fact, on her “Worthy” album, which she released in February, Arie curses in a song for the very first time in her 18-year recording career. But the Grammy-winning R&B artist - whose “Worthy” tour hits the Beacon Theatre on Sunday - isn’t always the saint you might expect her to be. India.Arie has always made soul music for the soul - soothing and uplifting your spirit.







India arie songs about beauty